Legends of the Old West


Season 1 — Legends

Classic true stories of the Old West: the Coffeyville Raid, the Baron of Arizona, the early years of Jesse James, the creation of the Texas Rangers, the death of Wild Bill Hickok, and many more. Plus bonus interviews with New York Times bestseller, Craig Johnson, the author of the Walt Longmire Mysteries; actor A Martinez, who played Jacob Nighthorse in the TV adaptation, “Longmire;” actor Barry Corbin, who played fan favorite Roscoe Brown in “Lonesome Dove;” and the president of the Western Writers of America, Nancy Plain.



Season 2 — Tombstone

A 5-part series on the events that led to the most famous gunfight in the American West, and the destruction that followed. The story of the 28 months that Wyatt Earp and his brothers spent in Tombstone and the 27 seconds that made them legends.


Season 3 — Jesse James, American Outlaw

Jesse James might be the most legendary outlaw who ever lived. He robbed banks, trains and stagecoaches from Missouri to West Virginia and Alabama to Minnesota. He achieved unparalleled fame and it ultimately led to his downfall. This is a five-part series beginning November 11, 2018 on the life and career of Jesse James.


Season 4 — Red Cloud’s War

Red Cloud was the most feared and respected war chief on the northern plains in the 1860s. He watched the Lakota way of life crumble as the American nation expanded west. He built an unprecedented Native coalition. In 1865, he began to fight back. In 1866, he declared war.



Special — Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo miniseries

This series goes behind the scenes of the largest livestock show and rodeo in the world. It highlights the unique history and mission of the event, and features interviews with top executives, athletes and performers.


Legends of the Old West Season Five: Texas Rangers

Season 5 — Texas Rangers

The people of Texas knew the name “Texas Rangers” long before the rest of the country. But by the late 1840s, the country, and the world, had caught up. Under the leadership of men like John Coffee Hays, Samuel Walker, and many others, the Rangers became a feared fighting force and gained international fame.


Season 6 — Deadwood

A mini series about Deadwood — the acclaimed HBO drama and the real history of the infamous mining town in the Black Hills.



Legends Lite

Interviews, short stories, and tantalizing nuggets of history that arrive between seasons. Hosted by Mandi Wimmer.


Listen for free on the app of your choice!